This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Western Pacific High Commissioner 1877-1976 (United Kingdom)

Last modified: 2006-12-30 by rob raeside
Keywords: western pacific high commissioner | wphc | fiji | new hebrides | vanuatu | pitcairn | cook islands | niue | nauru | tokelau | union islands | kiribati | gilbert and ellice islands | solomon islands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Western Pacific High Commissioner (1905-1953)] image by Santiago Dotor, António Martins and Jaume Ollé
1905-1953 Flag (Tudor Crown)

[New Hebrides British Resident Commissioner (1953-1976)] image by Santiago Dotor, António Martins and Jaume Ollé
1953-1976 Flag (St. Edward's Crown)

See also:


Office created 1877, abolished 1976, interrupted 1942-1945. Until 1952 was combined with office of Governor of Fiji. Original jurisdiction extended over all Pacific islands not within the limits of the colonies of Fiji, Queensland, New South Wales or New Zealand and not within the jurisdiction of any other colonial power. Included New Hebrides (Vanuatu), Pitcairn, Cook Islands and Niue until 1901, Nauru until 1921, Union Islands (Tokelau) until 1926, Phoenix Islands (part of Kiribati) until 1939, Tonga until 1952, Gilbert and Ellice Islands (Kiribati and Tuvalu) until 1971, and British Solomon Islands until 1974.

Badge: "W.P.H.C." below royal crown (1880-1905 Victorian Crown, 1905-1953 Tudor Crown, 1953-1976 St. Edward's Crown). The circle was white, the lettering was black and the crown was in full colour. Only on Union Flag with garland (green leaves, red berries and pale blue ribbon), not used on Blue Ensign.
David Prothero
, 1 October 1999

The Governor of Fiji (primary appointment) was also the Western Pacific High Commissioner (subsidiary appointment). When in Fiji as Governor he used the Union Jack defaced with Fiji badge. When visiting other islands as WPHC he used the Union Jack defaced WPHC.
David Prothero, 3 February 2006