This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Republic of the Congo; République du Congo

Last modified: 2006-04-29 by zeljko heimer
Keywords: congo | brazzaville | star: 5 points (yellow) | hammer | hoe | palm leaves | diagonal | pan-african |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Republic of the Congo is often referred as Congo-Brazzaville, to be differentiated from Democratic Republic of Congo known as Congo-Kinshasa (i.e. former Zaire).

[National flag and ensign] 2:3~
by Mark Sensen and António Martins
Flag originally adopted 18 August 1958, re-adopted 10 June 1991, coat of arms adopted 10 June 1991.

The Original and Present-day Flag

The flag adopted on 18 August 1958 by a then autonomous republic within the French Comunity is in the Pan-African colours and was the fifth national flag to use these colours, adopted by Ghana in reference to Ethiopia, the only African state who successfully resisted colonisation. The flag is divided diagonally from the lower hoist to the upper fly in green, yellow, red, with the yellow stripe narrower than the other portions.

On the 15th August 1960 the Republic gained its full independence and kept the same flag.
Dov Gutterman, 11 January 1999